Banana Bread

It might also be known as banana cake, or banana loaf, but I’ve always called it banana bread, although it’s not very bread-like. Banana bread is my favorite way of using up overripe bananas that got forgotten in the fruit bowl, and it’s a great for a snack with a glass of milk, or even for breakfast!

Normally, I wouldn’t make such a big deal out of banana bread, except that the loaf I made today was in my new apartment and my “fake” oven. It’s not really fake as such… but it’s a convection oven and I’ve never used one before. The first time I used it, it took me 30 minutes to cook mini-pizzas that normally only take about 10 minutes.

Image

So today I discarded my usual habit of trying things for the first time for an occasion, and decided to use my 3 overripe bananas to make some banana bread. I read through the oven manual several times to discover how to use it as a conventional oven, and was rewarded for my troubles – it CAN be used as a normal oven! And if I use the pre-heat function, it will even beep and tell me when the right temperature is reached! Guess I might not have to ask Santa for a small oven for Christmas after all 🙂

My banana bread smells yummy and is now cooling in anticipation of the in-laws coming over for a cup of tea later on 🙂

Image

Banana bread on my hand-painted banana leaf plate, ready to eat!

Image

2 thoughts on “Banana Bread

  1. I love banana bread, we should share our recipes! I am happy you figured out your new oven, now I can ask for your delicious cakes 🙂

Leave a Reply

