It is a truth universally acknowledged…

…that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.” -Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen.

This cake was commissioned for a Jane Austen lover, and what better than an open book cake, with one of Jane Austen’s most famous quote along its’ open pages? That is what I dreamed up for this cake.

IMG_2036

Shaping the cake was quite difficult actually. I have yet to find a good chocolate cake recipe that doesn’t fall apart on me the moment I shape it. With a lot of icing and struggles later, I finally was able to cover it with homemade marshmallow fondant.

IMG_2044

I let it rest like this overnight, and then encountered a new problem. Cutting marshmallow fondant in a straight line is EXTREMELY difficult. Because the nature of marshmallow is to be quite elastic, such was the fondant, and cutting it was a nightmare. I finally rolled it out and stuck it in the freezer for 15 minutes, then used a sharp knife dipped in boiling water to help with the cutting process. It (sort of) worked, and I was able to shape the book cover (purple) and bookmark.

IMG_2045

I then cut faint lines into the fondant on the sides of the book, to simulate pages. In order to show these up, I mixed a very light brown food coloring and vodka mixture and painted it on.

IMG_2047

Mixing colors into marshmallow fondant is also very tricky, and I eventually had to resort to painting certain sections over in order to get better vibrancy.

IMG_2048

Finally, I was ready to do my writing. A few years back, I came across a set of edible ink felt-tipped markers. They were an absolute life-saver, as I used these to write the words, rather than paint them on with a brush.

IMG_2049

I confess, I did have to look up the quote to make sure I had it right. I was terrified as I was writing that I would mess up, skip a letter, skip a word or something! But, luckily, I didn’t. I still need to work on writing straight though ^_^

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

